Skip to content

May 19, 2010

May 19th 2010

by soundlandscapes

This is the first time that I’ve entered this new (to me) world of blogging. So here goes!

I have been interested in sound recording since I received a steam driven Grundig reel-to-reel tape recorder when I was ten years old. I have been recording on and off ever since. Over the years I’ve recorded many different sounds on many different recorders. This has been my hobby rather than my profession but my interest in sound recording has never wavered.

I think that today is a wonderful time to be involved in sound recording.  In recent years technology has moved on at an almost alarming rate consigning the familiar UHER stoop, so well remembered by us old enough to have suffered from that particular affliction,  to history. Now, it is possible to record excellent sound quality easily and affordably without, for the most part, having to carry around bulky equipment. In recent years, I have taken advantage of the new tecnology to pursue my particular sound recording interest, street recordings.  Using a small pair of high quality binaural stereo microphones connected to a portable digital recorder I have collected some fascinating street sounds. I intend to increase this collection in order to provide an archive of the everyday sounds that we all encounter but often largely ignore. The human brain is a great filter of unnecessary sound whereas microphones capture everything. I find this fascinating.

I would be very interested to link up with others who share my interest in sound recording and street recording in particular.

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

