Skip to content

November 27, 2010

Animal Rights and Fur Coats

by soundlandscapes

ON SATURDAY AFTERNOON I was buying books in a very over-crowded W.H. Smiths on the corner of the rue Rivoli and the rue Cambon. I came out of the warmth of the bookstore into the chill of Paris in early winter. I turned left into the rue Cambon heading for one of my regular watering holes, Chez Flotte, where I intended to have a well-earned sit down, a small pichet of Beaujolais Nouveau and a good read. As I approached the hostelry I could hear shouting in the distance. I decided to go and investigate.

The rue Cambon was once home to Coco Chanel and her first fashion house in Paris still remains alive and well.

Other glamorous fashion shops also line the rue Cambon.

How appropriate then that at the intersection of the rue Cambon and the rue Saint-Honoré I should find a demonstration taking place – an animal rights demonstration.

A group of young women were protesting about the killing of animals and the use of their skins to provide fur coats and leather handbags for the fashion conscious Parisiennes who frequent this particular quartier of Paris.

Their message was:

These young lady protesters were clearly passionate about their cause … and I found it hard to disagree with them.

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

