Skip to content

May 5, 2011

4

Going Up – Going Down

by soundlandscapes

I DON’T KNOW ABOUT YOU, but as I get older, the prospect of climbing hills becomes much less attractive. There aren’t that many hills in Paris but, if you want to visit Montmartre, then you have no option but to negotiate a hill.

Walking up the hill is one option but there is an alternative  – the funicular railway. The original funicular was built in 1900 and was water powered. In 1935 it was converted to electricity.  The funicular we see today was modernised in 1991.

Climbing 36 metres in a little over a minute, the funicular carries over two million passengers a year.

Going up:

It’s easier to walk down hills than to walk up them so it’s not surprising that more people use the funicular to go up than to go down. Occasionally, I do take the down trip.

Going Down:

The Montmartre funicular has become part of the Paris Metro system so a simple Metro ticket will avoid the need for the alternative – a 220-step climb. I recommend the funicular!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. May 6 2011

    I love your site, I’ve been reading it for a while now. I’ll be working at an internship in Nanterre for about two months this summer, and I’m going to bring along my portable setup (tascam dr-07 with sound professional TFB2 binaural mics and an audio technica atm10a omni). Any chance you’d want to meet up, or maybe go on a joint recording walk?

    Reply
    • May 6 2011

      Hi Tyler, no problem at all, It will be a delight to meet up with you. Nanterre is very close to me. I look forward to it very much. I will mail you.

      Reply
  2. May 7 2011

    Nice work, again. You’ve really captured a (sound) signature of that local district.

    Reply
    • May 8 2011

      Thanks jd. I think every area has its own distinctive sounds – it’s just a question of finding them! Sometimes easier said than done.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

