Skip to content

May 18, 2011

10

One Year On …

by soundlandscapes

IT’S ONE YEAR AGO since I began this blog … and the past year has been a great adventure and a great joy.  A year ago, the world of blogging was very new to me and I had little idea of what I was doing or what shape this blog would take. All I had was a vague idea that I wanted to share two of my passions – the city of Paris and recording the everyday sounds around me.

The result is this three-dimensional blog comprising words, pictures and sounds, mainly of Paris but occasionally of other places too.

If I do my job properly, the sounds should add an extra dimension to the words and the pictures and create a sense of atmosphere and a sense of place. The sounds should also allow the audience to create their own pictures of this wonderful city. Whether I have succeeded or not is not for me to say, but I hope I have.

Much to my surprise, creating this blog has led to several things I hadn’t expected. I’ve been forced to explore the city of Paris to a much greater extent than I had before. That in itself has been a great delight.  I’ve developed an ear for the everyday sounds of Paris which is more acute now than it was before and my technique for capturing those sounds has been fine-tuned. Being in the right place at the right time is often a matter of luck – but sometimes it’s a matter of judgement. My skill at differentiating the one from the other has been sharpened.

Without doubt, the thing that I least expected a year ago is the number of people who would show an interest in this blog and the number of people who would keep coming back to see what I’m up to.  Knowing that I’ve accumulated a regular audience is a great spur to do even more and to do it even better.

I’m also astonished by the number of friends I’ve made through this blog. I’m in contact with people all round the world, some of whom I’ve been fortunate enough to meet in person. Without exception, all of these people have been very friendly, often complimentary about my work and always willing to share experiences and to offer advice and support.

Through these contacts and friends I’ve also been introduced to the work of other bloggers – sound blogs, Paris blogs and blogs on almost every subject you can imagine. This has taught me that the standard of blogging is exceptionally high – another spur for me to do even better.

I make hundreds of recordings of the sounds this city each year. Some of them feature on my blog but many of them never reach the front page. As a ‘thank you’ to both my regular and occasional readers and listeners on this, the first anniversary of this blog, I offer this petit cadeau – a recording that didn’t make the front page but which is a particular favourite of mine.

Singers rehearsing in the Eglise Saint–Séverin:

I am looking forward very much to what the second year of this blog will bring.

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. May 18 2011

    Bon anniversaire!

    Reply
  2. May 18 2011

    Thanks Roger.

    Reply
  3. Audio Field Recorder
    May 18 2011

    Des, best of luck for the future and hope you keep up your usual high standard of raw field recording. It puzzles me why the above audio track never made it to the front page; it’s lovely with plenty of atmosphere!
    Best regards.
    Lawrence

    Reply
    • May 18 2011

      Thanks Lawrence.

      Some sounds just have to wait for the right opportunity to get their fifteen minutes of fame. This one has been waiting for a long time I’m afraid!

      Reply
  4. May 18 2011

    What a great occasion to say thank you Des, Paris is now a bit closer thanks to your wonderful blog. Congratulations!

    Reply
    • May 18 2011

      Thanks Vladimir. I’m pleased my blog brings Paris closer to you just as yours brings back very special memories of Russia for me.

      Reply
  5. May 21 2011

    Congrats on the anniversary Des. With the quality of your recording and writing it’s hard to believe you’ve only been blogging for one year. Hope the next 12 months brings the same level of Parisian soundmarks.

    Reply
    • May 21 2011

      Thanks Jay … I shall try to do even better in the coming year. I always appreciate your comments. I am also enjoying your blog too. We live in very different environments and we both record the sounds around us … that’s what we do. Long may it continue.

      Reply
  6. May 22 2011

    Des, I just wanted to say congratulations and also thank you. When I stumbled upon this blog I felt like I’d found hidden treasure. Your posts are a treat I save up for when I’ve got the time and space to really listen and they constantly delight me. I also listen much more now in my own home environment than I ever did before. Thank you!

    Reply
    • May 22 2011

      Thank you Claire. I’m pleased that my blog gives you pleasure. Your comment makes it all worthwhile.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

