Skip to content

July 17, 2011

2

Pure Sounds

by soundlandscapes

FEW WORDS AND no pictures for this piece – just the pure sounds of the aircraft and helicopters passing directly overhead during the fly-past for La Fête Nationale on 14th July.

As I said in my piece ’You Heard It Here First!’, I missed the Patrouille de France in the rehearsal because they appeared unexpectedly. On the 14th July I was ready and waiting.

At precisely 10.40, led by the Patrouille billowing red, white and blue smoke, forty-eight aircraft of the L’Armée de L’Air appeared directly overhead my apartment.

The Aircraft:

Fifty minutes later, right on cue, came the helicopters.

The Helicopters:

On this, the French national day, both the defilé on the Champs Elysées and the fly past were timed to perfection.

To see the running order for the defilé and for the details of the fly past click here.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jul 17 2011

    Nice capture Des! I wasn’t quick enough to get my recorder out in time when they flew past my area, though I did record the fireworks down at Place Trocadéro. Check my blog if you are interested to hear the outcome.

    Reply
    • Jul 17 2011

      Thanks Colin. It’s difficult to capture aircraft well but, in my experience, fireworks are much more difficult. I’ve listened to the piece on your blog … great job!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

