Skip to content

August 1, 2011

3

A Soundwalk in the Musée Carnavalet

by soundlandscapes

I am always experimenting with sound.  The sounds that appear on this blog are relatively short and that seems to work … up to a point.  Sometimes though, I feel that these “sound bites” don’t do justice to the sounds that I’ve recorded. In a world dominated by the 24 hour news cycle, the 20 second sound bite seems to be all important.  And I seem to have fallen into the same trap, crediting my audience with a minimum attention span.  For this post, I have decided to take a different tack.

Some time ago, I made a post about the creaking wooden floor in the Musée Carnavalet.  After listening to those sounds again today, I realised that all the sounds I recorded in the Musée had much more to say than just the creaking wooden floor. So I have decided to present my ‘soundwalk’ through the Musée Carnavalet as it happened.  I have taken the three pieces I recorded in there and added them together.  It adds up to a sound piece that is a little over ten minutes long. I think it gives a much better impression of the Musée than just the wooden floor. What do you think?

I have added some pictures to give you a visual feel of the place but it is the sounds that tell the story.

A soundwalk in the Musée Carnavalet:

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sonic Fields
    Aug 2 2011

    That’s much better Des!……a more natural raw recording which provides a sense of actually being there. I like the section where the children are whispering as they pass you – I wonder if they were whispering because they realised you were recording, or because they were told by their parents to keep quiet!
    Regards.

    Reply
  2. Aug 2 2011

    Des, the short clip that you posted was one of my favourite recordings of yours, but you’re right, it’s much more satisfying to listen to the longer version – maybe as it gives the audience time to orientate ourselves, and let go of our immediate surroundings. Nice work.

    Reply
  3. Aug 2 2011

    Thanks for your comments. I think I may continue to publish some short sound pieces but, if the sounds have something to say, I will also include more longer pieces in future.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

