Skip to content

October 24, 2011

2

A “Sound Ride” in the Bois de Boulogne

by soundlandscapes

A “SOUND RIDE” IS a term I invented this afternoon. Sound Walks are familiar; lots of people do them including me. But this afternoon I thought I would do something a little different. Taking advantage of the delicious late autumnal weather, I made the ten-minute walk from my apartment across to the Bois de Boulogne and recorded a cycle ride on a Velib.

The Velib system we have in Paris is a wonderful invention. I think it’s been copied in other cities but it appeared here first. I’ll let the sounds tell the story of my Sunday afternoon in the Bois de Boulogne.

My Sound Ride in the Bois de Boulogne:

My Velib together with my black bag which contains my street recording studio

The Bois de Boulogne in summer

The Bois de Boulogne in springtime

The Bois de Boulogne in winter

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oct 26 2011

    It nice to hear your voice inside your sound-ride. Your observations sit well within the piece – almost as if you are as new to what you are observing as we are, the listeners. More importantly, it looks as though it was fun to get outside and record everything. Looking forward to more soundrides from Paris.

    Reply
    • Oct 26 2011

      Thanks Jay. Of course, I’ve explored almost all of the Bois de Boulogne on foot but this was only the second time that I’d explored it by bicycle. This was a new recording venture for me, recording on the hoof so to speak. In that sense, it was a new discovery and I’m pleased that you felt that it came across that way. Recording like this is a challenge and I have still lots to learn … but I am bursting with ideas about other Sound Rides.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

