Skip to content

December 24, 2011

2

Sounds For Christmas Eve

by soundlandscapes

EARLIER TODAY, ON THIS CHRISTMAS EVE, I found myself in Montparnasse in the Rue de la Gaïtié. There was little of Christmas to be seen there today but there were many reminders of bohemian Paris in the nineteenth-century.

The Rue de la Gaïtié is a narrow street, almost 300 metres long, in the 14th Arrondissement.  In the nineteenth-century it was a veritable pleasure dome full of theatres, restaurants and the famous music-hall, Bobino. Most of the theatres survive today.

I shall be producing a blog piece about these theatres in 2012 so watch out for it, it’s a fascinating story.

So, after that little excursion, I arrived home in time to listen to the Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols from King’s College, Cambridge broadcast on BBC Radio 4, which I listen to via the internet.  This is an annual ritual for me.

The BBC would really not appreciate me reproducing some of that broadcast on this blog and I would not be so disrespectful as to do so. However, I do have something else for you to listen to which should evoke the spirit of Christmas Eve.

In my previous post, Sound Hunting and L’Eglise Saint-Séverin, I said that I had one golden sound nugget that I had recorded in the church that I was saving for Christmas. Well, here it is.

A Choir in L’Eglise Saint-Séverin:

I hope you enjoy it … and all the other sounds on this blog.

Merry Christmas!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Dec 24 2011

    Happy Christmas!

    Reply
  2. Dec 24 2011

    Thanks Roger … and to you too. Hope you liked the photos – not as good as yours but I do my best!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

