Skip to content

January 16, 2014

2

Pont de Puteaux to Pont de Suresnes – A Soundwalk

by soundlandscapes

A COUPLE OF WEEKS ago, just before the turn of the year, I spent an afternoon walking along the banks of la Seine from Pont de Puteaux to Pont de Sursenes.  Here, the communes of Puteaux and Sursenes sit on one side of the river and on the other side is the western edge of the Bois de Boulogne on the very edge of Paris.

01

I like this walk, I do it three or four times a year, but I’ve never featured it on this blog and it wasn’t my intention to do so on this particular winter’s day. The narration accompanying this walk was intended originally for my personal audio diary but it did occur to me afterwards that it might be of passing interest to those not familiar with this fairly well hidden pathway along the banks of la Seine.  So here is the record of my walk on a perfect winter’s day.

02

Pont de Puteaux to Pont de Sursenes – A Soundwalk:

03

The Water Tower

04

05

06

07

09

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

Ouvrages de Suresnes – The Weir

18

20

21

23

Pont de Suresnes

24

25

Péniche ‘Pourquoi Pas’

26

27

A Passing Barge – A ‘Pusher’

28

La Seine from Pont de Suresnes

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. hmunro
    Jan 18 2014

    How do you do it? How do you keep showing me unfamiliar new facets of your city, places I’ve never even dreamed of visiting? I am usually content to simply lose myself in the sounds of a busy street (or in the quiet corridors of a hospital) but I must say your narration made this post extra-special. I know you don’t need any encouragement to keep producing and publishing your recordings because you do it out of love. But may I encourage you to publish these first-hand accounts more often? What a delight! Thank you.

    Reply
    • Jan 19 2014

      Thank you Heather for your encouragement and support. I really appreciate it. I keep searching out new places that might be of interest and of course new sounds for my Paris Soundscapes Archive. The wonderful thing is that new places and new sounds just keep turning up!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

