Skip to content

September 19, 2014

2

Parisian Thunder!

by soundlandscapes

YESTERDAY, I CAME HOME to find that that the workmen had finished erecting the scaffolding on the apartment block on the left of my little courtyard. This was good news because can there be anything worse than the constant clanging of scaffolding poles? The bad news was that I discovered work had started on erecting scaffolding on the apartment block to the right as well.

All this portends weeks of endless noise as they begin to clean the front of these apartment buildings by sandblasting them. It’s not something I’m looking forward to!

Still, the sight of scaffolding on the apartment blocks in my courtyard is a little unusual so I though I would capture the scene.

Home

I had just taken this picture from my balcony and gone back inside when the clouds darkened and it began to rain. During September we’ve been enjoying a glorious Indian summer in Paris but for the last couple of days the wonderful sunshine has been accompanied by uncomfortable humidity, a sure sign that thunder is in the air.

Parisian thunder from my balcony:

And thunder there was!

Thunder is not uncommon in Paris but I seldom seem to be in the right place at the right time to capture the sound of it – but yesterday was an exception. As the rain poured down and the workmen scurried for shelter I set up my microphones on my balcony and listened to nature’s dramatic performance.

After twenty minutes or so the thunder abated, the rain stopped, the sun shone again and life returned to normal. But what a dramatic twenty minutes it was!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sep 27 2014

    Wow! Sounds very much like continental thunder, of the kind we’d get in Italy. You know, it’s bizarre, but we hardly ever get this in Ireland. Plenty of rain, of course…but for some reason it’s of the quiet kind!

    Reply
    • Sep 28 2014

      Thanks S. This storm was particularly dramatic and I was very lucky to be in the right place at the right time to capture it. The thunder was dramatic but the lightening was much too close for comfort! We often get short, sharp, storms like this in the spring and late summer but they rarely last for long.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

