Skip to content

March 9, 2015

8

The Sounds of International Women’s Day 2015

by soundlandscapes

SUNDAY, 8th MARCH was International Women’s Day and a large number of events took place in Paris to mark the day.

To mark la Journée internationale de la femme last year I went to the Marie Curie Museum in the 5th arrondissement where there was an exhibition in the garden of the museum of photographic portraits celebrating the careers of prominent women, past and present, who worked or are currently working in the fields of science and medicine. You can see my report about that exhibition here.

To mark the day this year, I thought I would do something completely different!

01

I arrived in Place de la République on Sunday afternoon to record the sights and sounds of my first manifestation of the year, the Paris contribution to the Marche Mondiale des Femmes 2015.

International Women’s Day - République

It was a very lively and good-natured manifestation and although both women and some men took part I decided to mark my contribution to International Women’s Day 2015 by only recording the sounds of the women.

No further words from me can add anything to the words of these women marching through Paris yesterday, they were quite capable of expressing themselves.

Just a word of warning:

So as not to offend anyone, I should point out that there is a rather explicit picture at the end of this blog piece so if you think you might be offended by it then I suggest you just listen to the sounds and don’t scroll down any further. 

That said, I’ll simply let the women tell their own story.

The sounds of International Women’s Day 2015 in Paris:

International Women’s Day - République

International Women’s Day - République

International Women’s Day - République

International Women’s Day - République

International Women’s Day - République

International Women’s Day - République

International Women’s Day - République

International Women’s Day - République

International Women’s Day - République

International Women’s Day - République

International Women’s Day - République

International Women’s Day - République

International Women’s Day - République

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mar 9 2015

    Reblogged this on Feminatronic.

    Reply
  2. Richard Ewen
    Mar 9 2015

    Enjoyed this very much. Since you prefaced your warning of “there is a rather explicit picture at the end of this blog piece so if you think you might be offended by it then I suggest you just listen to the sounds,” I assume it is for your American readers, since bare breasts are so “taboo” in the US. I would have thought the French attitude toward partial nudity was much more mature than those in the US.

    Reply
    • Mar 9 2015

      Thanks very much for your comment Richard.

      I did ponder whether or not to include a warning about the picture but since my blog audience comes from many countries and is culturally diverse and, since I didn’t want to cause any unintended offence, I thought it best to include it.
      Of course, it’s not a problem here. As you can see from the picture, the ladies had no problem at all expressing themselves here in Paris.

      Reply
  3. hmunro
    Mar 9 2015

    For one, I appreciated the far warning about “the rather explicit picture” because it kept me from reading the entire post at work, where a row of breasts would have raised a few eyebrows. But a double thank you for *including* that photo with your piece. It’s the perfect end note for your wonderful réportage. Well done, Des.

    Reply
    • Mar 11 2015

      Thank you Heather!

      Having read your comment I’m now relieved that I included the warning message. I fear that the prospect of you being embarrassed in your office could have put the prospect of Saint-Michel later in the year in great jeopardy!

      I must admit that I was a little surprised when these ladies hove into view but I completely understood what they were saying. Apart from the anatomical display, I was perhaps more struck by the chains that bound them together. In the first song in the sound piece I recorded you will hear the word ‘esclave’ (‘slave’ in English) repeated several times and the chains seemed to me to be a powerful extension of that theme. For me at least, they got their message across not only dramatically but also very effectively.

      Reply
      • hmunro
        Mar 11 2015

        Aw, Des … rest assured that seeing a few breasts at the office would have had no effect whatsoever on our visit to Saint-Michel later this year! And thank you for pointing out the chanting of the word “esclave,” and the chains that joined the bare-chested ladies. I’d noticed both in passing, but hadn’t made the connection. Quite a brilliant statement on their part, actually.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Le Carnaval des Femmes 2015 | Soundlandscapes' Blog
  2. La Fête du Travail 2015 | Soundlandscapes' Blog

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

