Skip to content

December 11, 2015

2

Dixieland Jazz for Christmas

by soundlandscapes

MY LAST THREE POSTS on this blog have had a connection to the attacks in Paris on 13th November. Although I will never forget watching the terrible events unfold on that Friday evening or the anguish of the aftermath, it’s now time to move on – at least as far as this blog is concerned.

My local Christmas market opened last Saturday. Although small, it’s my favourite Christmas market because as well as the displays of artisanal products, a nineteenth-century carousel and children’s entertainers, it also features excellent street musicians.

Last Sunday this Dixieland jazz quartet took centre stage.

Neuilly - Christmas Market

Dixieland Jazz Quartet

Dixieland Jazz for Christmas:

Neuilly - Christmas Market

Dixieland Jazz Quartet – Plus One!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. hmunro
    Dec 12 2015

    It seems fitting somehow that your first post-November 13 post should feature a Dixieland band, Des: It reminded me very much of a funeral parade I witnessed while I was in New Orleans. We must never forget … but life must go on. Joyeux Noël to you and yours!

    Reply
    • Dec 12 2015

      Thank you, Heather.
      The November attacks in Paris and the aftermath affected me much more than I could have anticipated. Posting three blog pieces related to the attacks was, in part, a way of dealing with it I suppose. Perhaps by the time we next meet I will have my thoughts put together and I will be able to explain it all to you.
      Your reference to New Orleans struck a chord with me, I have very fond memories of that particular corner of the USA.
      I wish you and your family a very Happy Christmas too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

