Skip to content

Archive for

24
Oct

A “Sound Ride” in the Bois de Boulogne

A “SOUND RIDE” IS a term I invented this afternoon. Sound Walks are familiar; lots of people do them including me. But this afternoon I thought I would do something a little different. Taking advantage of the delicious late autumnal weather, I made the ten-minute walk from my apartment across to the Bois de Boulogne and recorded a cycle ride on a Velib.

The Velib system we have in Paris is a wonderful invention. I think it’s been copied in other cities but it appeared here first. I’ll let the sounds tell the story of my Sunday afternoon in the Bois de Boulogne.

My Sound Ride in the Bois de Boulogne:

My Velib together with my black bag which contains my street recording studio

The Bois de Boulogne in summer

The Bois de Boulogne in springtime

The Bois de Boulogne in winter